The King’s Speech

image

image

With all the interest in George VI following the success of ‘The Kings Speech’ at the BAFTAs and Oscars the timing seems quite fortuitous for the release of this App.  As I mentioned in an earlier post after watching the film of the same name I was curious to hear the original ‘Kings Speech’ myself.  The speech was made by King George VI in 1939 immediately preceding the second world war.

Imagine my surprise when I discovered that we already had a copy of the speech in our own house! (Thanks uncle Harry). A bit of a scrabble in the loft ensued to find a large box of assorted 78RPM records, quickly followed by another to find something on which to play them! The end result, after cleaning the recording up as best I could being my own digital recording used in this application. 

I took the opportunity to use some of the excellent content about George VI freely available on the internet (and happily under a ‘creative commons’ licence) and set to work putting together this App in as interesting way as I could envisage.

Layout wise I went with the ‘Panorama’ approach creating the XAML as I went rather than using a default layout with data binding  – this gave a little more flexibility in the positioning of objects within the layout.

I should point out that while this application covers much of the same material as the film of the same name, it is in not related to it.

The Application is available for a short time at 79p (99c) from the link below:

http://social.zune.net/redirect?type=phoneApp&id=45dcafd4-ac33-e011-854c-00237de2db9e

And if you have a penchant for the Royals you might also want to check out the ‘Royalty’ App!

– AS EVER PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU HAVE ANY APP DEVELOPMENT REQUIREEMENTS –

Thanks.

Leave a Reply

