Shortage of C#, SQL and .Net skills as IT vacancies rise

 

So sayeth Jenny Williams from Computer Weekly* today:

 http://www.computerweekly.com/Articles/2010/10/05/243179/Shortage-of-C-SQL-and-.Net-skills-as-IT-vacancies.htm

I have to be honest and say that I have really enjoyed the last 18 months myself.  After doing solid (back to back) contract work for more than 10 years I decided I would take a slightly different approach to work. The end result is that I have been  interspersing contract work (which I still enjoy) with some home based development – in the main targeting Windows Phone 7.  As Steve Balmer noted in todays UKTECHDAYS event in London “I see more opportunity for software development now than at any time in history” paraphrasing my own experience which I could perhaps best sum up as  “There has never been a better time to be a software developer”. 

I hit a milestone yesterday with a Birthday bringing me to the ripe old age of 30 (mental) and 50 (physical).  My brain shows no sign of not wanting to lap up new technologies and the challenges of new development remains a very enjoyable experience for me. 

Am I normal?  No, I am a geek!

 

* or perhaps more accurately the source: The Recruitment & Employment Confederation (REC) and E-Skills UK

Leave a Reply

